musings of a hopefilled soul

The God of Suddenly

Yesterday I shared how God gave me a song to minister to my soul and calm my fears as I struggled with problems my loved ones were facing.

But there is more to the story. Even as God calmed my fears through the words of this song and reminded me to praise him, He reaffirmed those thoughts in another way.

My sister and I both love books and she recently sent me 3, of which one was the Assemblies of God devotional, “God’s Word For Today.” That same night I picked up the devotional and read the one for that day.  It was called, “Suddenly Everything Changed.”

The scripture with the devotion was Acts 12:7.  It reads, “Suddenly an angel of the Lord appeared and a light shone in the cell.  He struck Peter on the side and woke him up.  “Quick get up!” he said, and the chains fell off Peter’s wrists.”

The devotion continues: Have you ever experienced a time when you felt your hands were tied and you could do nothing?  Peter was thrown in prison and held in chains.  Then suddenly, God showed up and unveiled His power of deliverance.  Think about Peter’s circumstance: in chains awaiting trial, soldiers surrounding him, and people accusing him.  The situation seemed hopeless, but not for God. Whatever you face today know that God is with you.  He can suddenly change your situation when you trust in Him.

The thought for today: Never quit because the God of suddenly is with you! Pray, believe, and rest in him.

Tears filled my eyes as I sensed my loving heavenly Father providing, yet again, more assurance of his deliverance for the problems of my concern. I was so struck that both accounts involved the chains falling off and those who were shackled were free.

How awesome is our kind and loving heavenly Father! Sometimes what we know to be true in our faith cannot get through the anxious moments because we have focused too much on the problem.  God so lovingly knew that night I needed a clear word from Him.  An assurance divinely placed before me to remind me he is as much able to break the chains of any situation today as he was thousands of years ago when he set Peter free of the physical chains that were holding him in prison.

I pray this speaks to some other person who is dealing with issues that threaten to steal their peace.  Praise opens the door to God, the God of “suddenly!”

“Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.”  Psalms 43:5

Comments on: "The God of Suddenly" (16)

  1. I appreciate the laser-like focus on “suddenly,” and the God who can make it happen. Thank you!

  2. is it possible to post videos in these comment boxes…i wonder?…would like to leave one for you. :)

  3. God is grand and merciful. May he continue to lift your family’s problems. I am so pleased that you find spiritual nourishment from the devout faith you hold in your heart. It will keep you strong and sustained ~

    • Thank you for sharing this beautiful music and the reminder of God’s faithful promise to bear us up on eagles wings! I really appreciate your concern!

  4. Wow. The timing of me reading this post is perfect! Thank you. Reblogging :)

  5. Reblogged this on doyoumeanwhatiknow and commented:
    We all need a reminder at times that God can and does do anything. Is anything to hard for God? NO!

  6. Wow…wow! I’m amazed at how God works!
    How randomly I was browsing online and find a blog that so deeply speaks the sentiments of my soul! We are all so connected! Only God!!

    • Ineed! All glory, praise and honor to His name! Isn’t it amazing how He gives us exactly what we need when we need it. He truly is at work! The goal of this blog is to give glory to God and be of encouragement and inspiration to those who visit!

  7. Byhisgrace said:

    Praising God for these encouraging words, a confirmation of His ability to move SUDDENLY!,,,in any situation …….Blessing to you and your family.

  8. What a blessing to read your blog and to read what your “fans” are saying to you – and to hear the gorgeous piano rendition of “On Eagle’s Wings.” I love it! Yes, God is good! All the time! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

