musings of a hopefilled soul

Alone

The night was dark and I was alone,

In a quivering voice I asked,

“Are you there,God?”

….Silence….

In scripture you tell me ,”I will never leave you or forsake you.”

….No response….

“God, I don’t feel your presence or hear your voice.”

…. Only quietness….

Others come to comfort me but they leave and again I’m alone.

….Continued stillness….

I know you tell me to walk by faith and not by sight, but that’s hard.

….The hush is deafening….

In scripture I am told you are my refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.

….I hear nothing….

Again I read your word and you say if I come near to you, you will come near to me.

….Silence….

The Bible says, Your eyes are on the righteous and your ears are attentive to their cry.

….”Child, I am here and have been all along.

My Holy Word is my constant conversation to you.

In it you will find hope, comfort, strength, courage, and much more.

But most of all you will find truth.

When the darkness comes and you can’t feel my presence,

You must cling to my words in scripture.

They are as relevant today as when I first breathed them into man.

“I am God and I change not.”

We will get through this together.

Deuteronomy 31:8 “It is the Lord who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not fail you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed. ” (ESV)

Lynn Radke May 14, 2012

Comments on: "Alone" (2)

Leave a Reply

