musings of a hopefilled soul

A Matter Of The Heart

 
val-card-sketch-heart
I’ve arrived at a conclusion,

Maybe one of life’s rare finds

That there’s not a lot worth salvaging

Within this heart of mine.

It’s ever ready to destruct

And lie above all things…

It tends to laugh when it should cry

And mourn when it should sing.

I’ve wasted countless hours begging,

“Fix this heart, Lord, Please!”

While it stomps its feet, demand its way

And floods with sin’s disease.

At last, you’re able to get through

And lay it on the line:

“You must give up that heart of yours

And trade it in for mine”

So I cry out with the psalmist,

Create within me, Lord

A new heart crystal clear

That only Calvary could afford.

A heart which pounds the rhythm

Of heaven’s metronome

And issues forth a boundless love

And beats for You alone.

I want to love that which You love,

Despising what you hate

And see myself as least of these

Oh Lord, retaliate

The efforts of the evil one

Who seeks to make my plea

That of his own, “I’ll make no move

Til I’ve considered me.”

Peel away my fingers,

Finally make me understand

The power to love and please You

Can’t be found within a man.

So, my Lord, I bring this offering;

A stubborn heart of stone

And ask You, in its absence,

Please exchange it for Your own.

***written by Beth Moore

Comments on: "A Matter Of The Heart" (7)

  1. Thanks for sharing such a beautiful poem! It truly is, “A Matter of the Heart.” God bless you!

    Paulette

  2. Great poem. Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂 Angie

  3. I really like this poem Beth

    Shirley Anne x

  4. […] A Matter Of The Heart (changeindirections.wordpress.com) 0.000000 0.000000 Rate this:Share this:TwitterDiggFacebookRedditPrintStumbleUponEmailLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

Leave a Reply

