musings of a hopefilled soul

There’s no way to describe the feeling you feel

As they jump up and down and excitedly squeal,

“Grandma, Grandpa,” they happily say,

“Can we, huh, can we come to your house to stay?

Awe please, Grandma, please , say its ok.

We promise to be good at least for today.”

Well your heart does a flip-flop and how could you say no

So to Grandma’s and Grandpa’s they happily go.

Theres ice cream to eat and bubbles for fun

And there’s always the park where they like to run

To climb on the rocks and butterflies chase,

The day rushes on at a fast-moving pace.

Well theres pictures to draw and pizza to eat

Accomplishing all can be quite a feat.

Decorate cookies, eat donuts, and look

At all of the pictures in vacation books.

Kids who like baths? Who would have thought,

The excited anticipation this activity brought.

To play in the water with makeshift toys,

Sailing boats and splashing, “boys will be boys.”

And “girls will be girls”

With their ribbons and curls.

The jamis are on and its time for bed

They’re all nestled in after prayers have been said.

And the house becomes quiet and I reflect on the day

Who was most blessed by having them stay.

For the joy of a child is a magical thing

And time passes quickly but memories cling.

Lord I thank you for the time with these little ones today

Grandma loves it when they come to her house to stay.

Lynn Radke July 9,2012

Comments on: "Grandma’s House To Stay" (14)

  1. I loved staying with my grandparents and my son loves staying with my wife’s parents, too. This rings very true. Love it!

    • Thanks for the comment. Children/grandchildren are indeed a blessing and they grow quickly. Trying to enjoy it all while I can.

  2. oh i have goosebumps…beautiful Grandma x

  3. awww, this was delightful! reminded me of the children i recently spent time with. They were a joy and a gift ..for their presence in my life is a blessing! 🙂

  4. What an absolutely beautiful poem! When I become a grandma that’s exactly how I want to be for my grandchildren! Thank you to my mom, Jan Beekman, for sharing this poem with me. She’s a marvelous grammy!

    • Glad you enjoyed it! Grandchildren are certainly a blessing. What little I know of your mom from her blog, I’m not surprised she is an awesome grandma. Thanks for the comment.

  5. Thank you for the wonderful reminder! Our first grandchild is only 11 weeks old so it will be awhile for him, but my wife and I are already making plans!

    Russ

Leave a Reply

