musings of a hopefilled soul

The Struggle

I despised seeing nighttime arrive

The daytime hours provided distraction from my worries

….at least for a while

But nighttime was too quiet,

Too quiet to sleep.

It all rolled around in my head over and over again.

The problems seemed enormous.

It was almost physically painful

I wanted to be able to do more… to fix it

….But I’m not God

So I tried to leave it with Him

To “cast all my cares upon Him” as He asks

But somehow I kept feeding my worries

And owning them again, and again…

Without really being aware of my action.

Desperately I needed relief,

The mental anguish was

Greater than any I had experienced.

It drove me to my knees

And prostrated me before my Lord

Once again I cried out for relief

…for the answer……

“I am the One who spoke this world into existence

I can do exceedingly abundantly above and beyond

All you can ask or think.”

“Remind yourself of who your God is and the power

He has in merely a spoken word.”

“Lift your voice and heart and offer the sacrifice of praise

For I inhabit the praises of my people.

The chains will fall off and you will be free.

Free of the worry…free to trust me with your concerns.

Peace will rest on you and you will sleep.

Remember my mercy and my compassion to you.”

…………………………..

So praise, I offered to my loving Lord

Committing it all to him as an offering,

Rising above feelings… to obedience to Almighty God.

And wouldn’t you know… He was faithful!

In exchange for anxiety I received peace.

Confidence flooded my soul.

I didn’t have the answer

But God did!

I couldn’t see what He was doing,

But I knew He was at work

My concerns no longer held me captive!

And so I believe…

God is who He says He is

and He can do what He says He can do!

He is handling all that is of concern to me.

And there is rest for my weary, exhausted soul.

I wrote this in response to the days I experienced about a week ago when concerns seemed greater than any solution.  Thank God, He comes through for us if we continue to praise Him and trust that He loves us beyond measure!!

Lynn Radke October 24,2012

Comments on: "The Struggle" (6)

  1. What an amazing poem. Thank you for sharing that.

  2. I am happy to learn that all is okay. God held up UP, as he is supremely best at this !

  3. Powerful words that are a reminder of what He promises! Thank you!

    • Hey Val, Good to hear from you! Hope all is well with Hospice of Siouxland. Appreciate your comments. Truly God is faithful! Learning to not only believe in God but to believe God! A powerful difference! Have an awesome, God blessed day.

Leave a Reply

