musings of a hopefilled soul

The frequency with which God keeps bringing this truth to my mind, makes me believe there are others out there who also need this reminder.  I am a work in progress and am striving to praise God more in my prayer life and throughout the day.  Last evening as I read the daily devotion from Joyce Meyer’s “Love Out Loud” book, the message was repeated to me. To others, like me, who need to grow in this area, here is the devotion:

PRAISE BRINGS VICTORY

The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in Him, and I am helped; therefore my heart greatly rejoices, and with my song I will praise Him.  Psalm 28:7 KNJV

Do you know that praise is a form of spiritual warfare?  It is; it’s a means of spiritual warfare that defeats the enemy and his works.  Praising God can break the power of fear and help us to get rid of doubt and unbelief.  It will drive away spiritual influences that are not of God.  We need to say something like,”I praise you, Lord, and I magnify Your name.  You’re worthy to be praised.  Hallelujah.  Thank You, Lord.  You’re awesome!  There is nobody like you!” We can use those words of warfare anytime, anywhere.  We can defeat Satan much more quickly by praising God than by worrying.  That’s why the Bible is loaded with examples of praise and instructions for us to sing and praise God.  Just look at some of them.

  • “Unto You, O my strength, I will sing praises;for God is my Defense, my Fortress, and High Tower, the God who shows me mercy and steadfast love” (Psalms 59:17)
  • “I will extol You, O Lord for You have lifted me up, and have not let my foes rejoice over me”(Psalms 30:1)
  • “Oh, sing to the Lord a new song!  For He has done marvelous things; His right hand and His holy arm have gained Him the victory” (Psalms 98:1)

Why does the Bible tell us to sing and praise God?  Why did God put songs in our hearts?  Because these things are not only the means of expressing our love to Him, but also a way to win the spiritual war.

LOVE GOD TODAY: When you are in a spiritual battle, don’t forget to use the weapon of praise.

This is from Joyce Meyer’s devotional book, “Love Out Loud”

Comments on: "Devotion: Praise Brings Victory" (3)

  1. Thank you, I was one of those that needed this reminder. I never thought of praise as a weapon for spiritual battle. Very good thought for today and one I plan to put into my spiritual disciplines.

Leave a Reply

